Washington State Criminal Justice
Training Commission

REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION 19010 1°t Avenue South

Burien, WA 98148-2055
OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY urien, Wh 9145 205

Form CJ 1271
Revised: 10/2021

NOTICE:

e The start date for your academy must be at least 90 days from the approval of this application.

e Once your academy is approved an academy schedule is due 30 days from the start of the Academy. The
academy hosting agency is responsible for maintaining the schedule per public disclosure law.

e Application Forms for the Basic Reserve Academy are due a minimum of 7 days before the start of your
academy. If applications are not received by our office by this time your academy.

e Notice of Hire forms for future reserve officers are due 21 days before the end of youracademy.

® The request for certificates for all recruits expected to complete the academy is due 21 days before the end of
your academy (same time as any outstanding Notice of Hire forms).

e Curriculum for the Reserve Academy is a living document and may change at any time. Academy
Commanders are responsible for ensuring any new curriculum is integrated into any existing schedule.

| acknowledge and understand the deadlines stated above.

Academy Commander or Coordinator Signature



Form CJ 1271
Revised: 10/2021

Washington State Criminal Justice
Training Commission

REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION 19010 1°t Avenue South

Burien, WA 98148-2055
OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY e o6 8357300

NAME OF ACADEMY LOCATION DATES Orientation Date to Graduation Date
From: To:
NAME & RANK OF ACADEMY COMMANDER AGENCY WORK PHONE & EMAIL ADDRESS
INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT PROJECTED INSTRUCTOR’S RANK & NAME (first and last) INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION
NUMBER OF
HOURS
Academy Commander’s 2 Hours Performance This should be delivered by the designated Reserve Academy
Time Objectives Commander or their designee.
Report Writing 12 Hours Performance Patrol Officer with excellent report writing skills
Objectives
Criminal Investigation 24 Hours Performance Patrol Officer or Detective
Objectives
Criminal Law 28 Hours Performance It is RECOMMENDED that this course be co-instructed by a
Objectives prosecutor/deputy prosecutor and a Washington State
certified peace officer with significant patrol, training, and
teaching experience (i.e FTO/PTO/Former Academy
Instructor)
Criminal Procedures 34 Hours Performance Patrol Officers or Detective
Objectives
Communication Skills/ 21 Hours Performance Crisis Team, Patrol Officers

Crisis Intervention

Objectives
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REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION
OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY

Washington State Criminal Justice
Training Commission

19010 1t Avenue South

Burien, WA 98148-2055
206-835-7300

INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK
Statewide CIT - 8 Hour
Training

In Seat or Virtual

Cultural Diversity

Ethics

Do tolrieriene
CURRENTLY NOT

REQUIRED
Defensive Tactics

EVOC

MINIMUM HOURS

8 hours

13 Hours
Emotional Intelligence 2
hours
Community Expectations
1 hour
Diversity/Biased-based
Policing 2 hours
History of Race and
Policing - 8 hours - can
be 2, 4-hour blocks.

3 Hours

52 Hours

12 Hours (Classroom)
8 Hours (Practical)

REQUIREMENT

Performance
Objectives

Performance
Objectives

Performance
Objectives

Performance
Objectives

PROJECTED INSTRUCTOR’S RANK & NAME (first and last)
NUMBER OF
HOURS
Contact CJTC CIT division to make
arrangements for an instructor

INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION

Instructor must be CJTC Certified or Approved for teaching
this course. Courses may also be found on the CJTC Website
for remote viewing.

Internal Affairs, Detective, or Academy Commander

. . . . forrr

Instructor must have successfully completed
Level 2 Defensive Tactics and recertified within 3
years of last certification.

If your DT Instruction includes Strikes, or Baton
Usage, your instructor must be at least level 2,
and have additional Baton Instructor certification
and or recertification within 3 years of last
certification. A Master Instructor Certification is
also accepted as long as the Ml has recertified
with 3 years of the last certification.

Instructor must have attended either a WSCJTC
sponsored, or WSP sponsored (hosted) EVOC
course. Proof of attendance at the WSP course
may be required as some certificates do not
show on records.
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INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK

Firearms

Scenarios

Patrol Tactics

Radio Procedures

Traffic

Use of Force

First Aid

MINIMUM HOURS

42 Hours

Combined Classroom and

Range

28 hours

34 Hours

1 Hour

26 Hours (Classroom

& Presentations)

8 Hours

Pre-requisite

REQUIREMENT

Performance
Objectives

Building
Searches
Traffic Stop
Felony Stop
Field
Interview
Performance
Objectives

Performance
Objectives

Performance
Objectives

Performance
Objectives

Verification of
Basic First Aid

PROJECTED INSTRUCTOR’S RANK & NAME (first and last)
NUMBER OF
HOURS

INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION

Instructor must have successfully completed

CJTC Level 1 or Level 2 handgun instructor training and has
recertified within 3 years of the last certification. If shotgun is
taught during this course, your instructor must have
successfully passed the CJTC Shotgun Instructor course and
recertified within 3 years of the last certification. The same
applies for Rifle. If Rifle is taught during the Reserve
Academy, your instructor must have at least Rifle, level 1
instructor certification, and recertified within 3 years of the
last certification.

Scenarios should be instructed by Patrol Officers that have

attended the CJTC Patrol Tactics Instructor Course or have
knowledge of the Patrol Tactics instructional methodology.

Patrol Tactics - this block should be instructed by Officers who
have completed the CJTC Patrol Tactics Instructor Course.

Patrol Officer Or Communications Specialist

Patrol Officer, Traffic Officer

Patrol Officer, IIU, Prosecutor, anyone that can deliver the three
Use of Force presentations with an above average understanding
of the newest changes to the use of force in HB 1310.

Taught by a certified instructor or otherwise approved by
WSCJTC
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INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK

ACCESS

Total Hours

COMP FINAL

MINIMUM HOURS

As mandated by WSP

Minimum 364-356
hours Required
Without ACCESS

3

REQUIREMENT

Card with CPR
certification

Optional
Course

Online Acadis

PROJECTED INSTRUCTOR’S RANK & NAME (first and last)
NUMBER OF
HOURS

INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION

Taught by an instructor authorized by Washington State Patrol
- usually an agency has an ACCESS manager. Possibly a Radio
Communications Supervisor.

356 hours without ABLE/Duty to Intervene

The Comprehensive Final is not included in the "Minimum
training Hour" total.
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In addition to those requirements set forth above, each student must successfully complete a comprehensive final examination, administered by the WSCITC, as a pre-requisite to receiving a reserve

certificate. Such examination will be based upon the student performance objectives and should be administered after all instruction has been provided.

Please complete the following to ensure timely and proper test administration. The TEST DATE must be at least one week prior to the GRADUATION date and the examination will be administered by a
proctor authorized by the WSCITC

TEST DATE Graduation Date NUMBER OF STUDENTS TEST TIME
ATTENDING ACADEMY ALLOW UP TO 3 HOURS
From: AM/PM
To: AM/PM

LOCATION (ADDRESS) OF CLASSROOM

REQUEST ACADEMY TO BE POSTED ON CJTC WEBSITE

COST TO PARTICIPATE (IF ANY)

Yes:
No:

PRINT NAME OF REQUESTOR

COMMISSION USE ONLY

Approved: OJ

SIGNATURE OF REQUESTOR

Disapproved: (1

PROCTOR ASSIGNED

AGENCY OF REQUESTOR

ACADEMY NOTIFIED

DATE

SESSION NUMBER ASSIGNED




	 Application Forms for the Basic Reserve Academy are due a minimum of 7 days before the start of your academy. If applications are not received by our office by this time your academy.

