

WASHINGTON STATE CRIMINAL JUSTICE TRAINING COMMISSION

19010 1ST AVENUE SOUTH, BURIEN, WA 98148

SPECIAL COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, April 1, 2010 2 PM

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Craig Thayer (Chair), Sheriff, Stevens County
Mike Johnston (Vice Chair), Sergeant, Bellingham Police Department
Anne Kirkpatrick, Chief, Spokane Police Department
Jeff Myers, Chief, Hoquiam Police Department
John Batiste, Chief, Washington State Patrol
Kevin Bovenkamp, Organizational Development Director, Department of Corrections
Ned Newlin, Chief of Corrections, Kitsap County Sheriff's Office
Shon Small, Detective, Benton County Sheriff's Office
William Elfo, Sheriff, Whatcom County

WSCJTC STAFF PRESENT:

Michael D. Parsons, Executive Director Debbie Mealy, Deputy Director Greg Baxter, Manager, Program Administration Sonja Hirsch, Executive Assistant Steve Lettic, Manager, Development, Training, and Standards Division

GUESTS PRESENT:

Jean E. Meyn, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office

INTRODUCTION

The Chair called the telephonic meeting to order at 2:02 PM with a quorum present. The Chair proceeded with roll call.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Director Michael Parsons announced he will retire on January 1, 2011; therefore, the meeting was called to discuss Director Parsons' retirement, review the position description and make any necessary changes, discuss the recruitment process, and establishes a timeline for hiring a new Director.

The Chair announced at 2:03 PM that the Commission would go into an Executive Session for approximately 15 minutes to discuss the performance of public employee, Director Michael Parsons, pursuant to RCW 42.30.110(g).

Director Parsons and Deputy Director Mealy were asked to join AAG Jean Meyn and the Commissioners for the Executive Session; all others were excused.

Chief Kirkpatrick joined after the Executive Session was called.

Director Parsons and Deputy Director Mealy were excused from the Executive Session at 2:22 PM.

The Commission concluded the executive session and reconvened with the regular session at 2:56 PM.

Commissioner Johnston made a motion to retain Director Parsons until the end of December 2010, so he has the opportunity to work with the new executive director in the duties of the Executive Director of the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission. Commissioner Kirkpatrick seconded the motion.

The Chair stated the original proposal was to start the selection process as soon as possible, to go through the interview and selection process, and for Director Parsons to transition into an advisory position when the new Director takes office.

Commissioner Johnston confirmed that the Commission's original proposal is encompassed in his motion. **Chief Kirkpatrick** again seconded the motion.

The Chair conducted a roll call vote, and the motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner Myers made a motion to hold an additional special meeting to discuss the position details for the executive director position and the recruitment process. Commissioner Kirkpatrick seconded the motion.

A committee meeting will be held at the Criminal Justice Training Commission on Monday, April 12, 2010, at 10 AM, to establish criteria and a timetable. This meeting will be held in conjunction with the Basic Training Task Force meeting. At 3:04 PM, Commissioner Johnston made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Myers seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Next Meeting: June 9, 2010, at 10 AM		
Written by:		
	Sonja Hirsch, Executive Assistant	Date
Reviewed by:		
•	Michael D. Parsons, Executive Director	Date
Approved by:		
	Sheriff Craig Thayer, Commission Chair	Date