Animal Control Officer Academy
The Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission (WSCJTC) and Washington Animal Control Association (WACA) have partnered together to offer the Animal Control Officer Academy. This 80-hour intensive course is held at the WSCJTC center in Burien, Washington and is specifically designed for Animal Control Officers. Instructors consist of WACA personnel who will cover a variety of topics to satisfy Washington state’s Animal Control Officer requirements.
- Upcoming classes are listed below in Training Sessions.
- To register for the course, contact your Training Manager to assign the training to you via Acadis
Topics Covered in 80-Hour Course:
Animal Control and Care:
- Capture & Restraint
- Wildlife Identification & Handling
- State & Local Animal Laws
- Animal Diseases and First Aid
- Blood Sports
Traditional Law Enforcement:
- Court Room Procedures
- Crisis Intervention
- Criminal Law
- Search & Seizure
Relevant Animal Control Codes in Washington State
RCW Chapter 16.52 – Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
RCW 16.52.011 – Definitions and Principles of Liability
RCW 16.52.015 – Enforcement—Law enforcement agencies and animal care and control agencies.
RCW 16.52.025 – Humane societies—Animal control officers.
RCW 16.52.80 – Transporting or confining in unsafe manner—Penalty.
RCW 16.52.85 – Removal of animals for feeding and care—Examination—Notice—Euthanasia.
RCW 16.52.100 – Confinement without food or water-–Intervention by others.
RCW 16.52.200 –Sentences—Forfeiture of animals—Liability for costs—Penalty—Education, Counseling.
RCW 16.52.300 – Dogs or cats used as bait—Seizure—Limitation.
RCW 16.52.340 – Leave or confine any animal in unattended motor vehicle or enclosed space—Class 2 civil infraction—Officers' authority to reasonably remove animal.
Animal Control and Cruelty Resources
Animal Legal & Historical – WA State Cases
If classes are full, or not available, please complete the Course Interest Survey. This is not a waiting list, but instead helps us see if there is enough interest to create another class. If we schedule a session, we will contact everyone who has completed the survey and request that registration be completed.
- Must be active & employed animal control officer.
- A Criminal Records Check Form is required prior to class, completed, and signed by an appointing authority of the applying agency.
(206) 786- 4401
Who can attend our classes?
Class is only open to active animal control officers who meet the prerequisites.
- Gym clothes for physical activity days
- Black pants
- Black duty boots or shoes
Visitors attending training at the WSCJTC are encouraged to wear their agency logo shirt/uniform or agency ID badge while on campus. Polo shirts will be provided.
Classes will be held 0800 – 1700 Monday through Friday.
Dates and locations will vary by session.
Deadline to cancel is 7 days prior to class. Please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to cancel your registration.
There is a $100 no show or late cancellation fee.
|Session||Session Title||Dates & Hours||Location||Status||Cost|
|2390-2||Animal Control Officer Academy||3/13/2023 - 3/24/2023
0800 - 1700
19010 1st Avenue South
Burien, WA 98148